Controlled load electricity rates
One row per energy retailer, distribution zone and controlled load type: that retailer's cheapest generally available residential plan with a controlled load in the ten zones covered by the Default Market Offer and the Victorian Default Offer. Rates include GST. No filing in this set carries a separate controlled load daily charge.
Rates as at 27 October 2026 · Verified 27 October 2026
How a plan qualifies, and how CL1 and CL2 are read from the filing, is in the methodology.
Median controlled load rate by zone
Ausgrid: Median controlled load rate: 19.31c/kWh (339 plans).
52 of 125 plans charge the DMO CL1 rate or more.
44 of 123 plans charge the DMO CL2 rate or more.
Median discount vs general rate: 42% (136 single-rate plans).
153 of 401 entries don't say whether they're CL1 or CL2.
Endeavour Energy: Median controlled load rate: 20.65c/kWh (352 plans).
56 of 143 plans charge the DMO CL1 rate or more.
59 of 140 plans charge the DMO CL2 rate or more.
Median discount vs general rate: 36% (142 single-rate plans).
143 of 426 entries don't say whether they're CL1 or CL2.
Essential Energy: Median controlled load rate: 20.89c/kWh (455 plans).
83 of 179 plans charge the DMO CL1 rate or more.
73 of 170 plans charge the DMO CL2 rate or more.
Median discount vs general rate: 42% (142 single-rate plans).
199 of 548 entries don't say whether they're CL1 or CL2.
Energex: Median controlled load rate: 16.43c/kWh (302 plans).
89 of 126 plans charge the DMO CL1 rate or more.
89 of 125 plans charge the DMO CL2 rate or more.
Median discount vs general rate: 41% (135 single-rate plans).
143 of 392 entries don't say whether they're CL1 or CL2.
SA Power Networks: Median controlled load rate: 22.24c/kWh (119 plans).
52 of 76 plans charge the DMO CL rate or more.
Median discount vs general rate: 47% (56 single-rate plans).
CitiPower: Median controlled load rate: 16.59c/kWh (127 plans).
82 of 127 plans charge the VDO CL rate or more.
Median discount vs general rate: 36% (58 single-rate plans).
Powercor: Median controlled load rate: 17.26c/kWh (127 plans).
81 of 127 plans charge the VDO CL rate or more.
Median discount vs general rate: 39% (58 single-rate plans).
Jemena: Median controlled load rate: 21.41c/kWh (125 plans).
71 of 125 plans charge the VDO CL rate or more.
Median discount vs general rate: 22% (58 single-rate plans).
AusNet: Median controlled load rate: 22.11c/kWh (133 plans).
71 of 133 plans charge the VDO CL rate or more.
Median discount vs general rate: 31% (60 single-rate plans).
United Energy: Median controlled load rate: 17.26c/kWh (125 plans).
80 of 125 plans charge the VDO CL rate or more.
Median discount vs general rate: 37% (58 single-rate plans).
Cheapest controlled load by retailer
- Ausgrid: 339 of 339 plans mapped.
- Endeavour Energy: 352 of 352 plans mapped.
- Essential Energy: 455 of 455 plans mapped.
- Energex: 302 of 302 plans mapped.
- SA Power Networks: 121 of 121 plans mapped.
- CitiPower: 127 of 127 plans mapped.
- Powercor: 127 of 127 plans mapped.
- Jemena: 125 of 125 plans mapped.
- AusNet: 133 of 133 plans mapped.
- United Energy: 125 of 125 plans mapped.
Type not stated in the retailer’s filing. Those rows are in the zone median and out of the cap comparison. A time-of-use controlled load lists each block. It is ranked on the cheapest block only when that block covers at least 6 hours a day.
| Retailer | Zone | Plan | Controlled load name | Type | CL rate c/kWh | % vs cap | General rate c/kWh | Discount vs general | GST |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Flipped Energy | Ausgrid | Anytime Switched On 2.3! Controlled Load | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 14.5 | 25% below | 26.76 | 46% | incl |
| Indigo Power | Ausgrid | Community Energy Hub plan | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 15.29 | 21% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| 1st Energy | Ausgrid | 1st Emerald - Single Rate + Controlled Load 1 | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 15.4 | 20% below | 26.4 | 42% | incl |
| Tango Energy | Ausgrid | Everyday Easy | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 15.95 | 17% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Momentum | Ausgrid | Home Comfort Electricity | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 16.39 | 15% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Origin | Ausgrid | Weekday Shift | Controlled load 1 | CL1 | 16.79 | 13% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Red Energy | Ausgrid | Living Energy Saver | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 17.33 | 10% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| AGL | Ausgrid | Residential Smart Saver | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 17.37 | 10% below | 29.82 | 42% | incl |
| Sumo | Ausgrid | Static | General Controlled Load 1 Usage | CL1 | 18.34 | 5% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Diamond Energy | Ausgrid | Diamond Everyday - Daylight | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 18.92 | 2% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Nectr | Ausgrid | GreenPower + CL 1 - August 2026 | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 19.12 | 1% below | 32.8 | 42% | incl |
| EnergyAustralia | Ausgrid | Flexi Plan | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 19.31 | at the cap | 33.13 | 42% | incl |
| OVO Energy | Ausgrid | The Free 4 Plan | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 19.31 | at the cap | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| GEE Energy | Ausgrid | GEE Smart Value AUSR Time of Use + CL1 | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 19.6 | 2% above | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| COVAU | Ausgrid | Freedom Residential Single + CL 1 | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 23.3 | 21% above | 35.59 | 35% | incl |
| Dodo | Ausgrid | Real Deal | Single Rate Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 24.27 | 26% above | 30.36 | 20% | incl |
| Indigo Power | Ausgrid | Community Energy Hub plan | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 18.26 | 21% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| 1st Energy | Ausgrid | 1st Emerald - Single Rate + Controlled Load 1 & 2 | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 18.37 | 20% below | 26.4 | 30% | incl |
| Tango Energy | Ausgrid | Everyday Easy | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 18.7 | 19% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Momentum | Ausgrid | Home Comfort Electricity | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 19.47 | 15% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| GEE Energy | Ausgrid | GEE Smart Value AUSR Time of Use + CL2 | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 19.6 | 15% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Red Energy | Ausgrid | Living Energy Saver | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 19.8 | 14% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Origin | Ausgrid | Weekday Shift | Controlled load 2 | CL2 | 20.02 | 13% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| AGL | Ausgrid | Residential Smart Saver | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 20.7 | 10% below | 29.82 | 31% | incl |
| Sumo | Ausgrid | Static | General Controlled Load 2 Usage | CL2 | 21.85 | 5% below | 31.47 | 31% | incl |
| Diamond Energy | Ausgrid | Diamond Everyday - Daylight | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 22.55 | 2% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Nectr | Ausgrid | GreenPower + CL 2 - August 2026 | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 22.77 | 1% below | 32.8 | 31% | incl |
| EnergyAustralia | Ausgrid | Flexi Plan | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 23 | at the cap | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| OVO Energy | Ausgrid | The Free 4 Plan | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 23 | at the cap | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| COVAU | Ausgrid | Freedom Residential Single + CL 2 | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 27.18 | 18% above | 35.59 | 24% | incl |
| Dodo | Ausgrid | Real Deal | Single Rate Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 27.25 | 18% above | 30.36 | 10% | incl |
| Indigo Power | Ausgrid | Community Energy Hub plan | Controlled Load | Not stated | 15.29 | n/a | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Powershop | Ausgrid | Power House | Single Rate Controlled Load | Not stated | 16.18 | n/a | 31.56 | 49% | incl |
| Alinta | Ausgrid | HomeDeal Smart - Single Rate + CL | Controlled load | Not stated | 17 | n/a | 29.16 | 42% | incl |
| ENGIE | Ausgrid | Home Business Everyday Elec | Single Rate Controlled Load | Not stated | 19.29 | n/a | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| GloBird | Ausgrid | FREELUNCH Resi (Flexible Rate CTL) | Controlled Load | Not stated | 19.31 | n/a | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Kogan Energy | Ausgrid | Basic | Single Rate Controlled Load | Not stated | 19.31 | n/a | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| 1st Energy | Endeavour Energy | 1st Emerald - Single Rate + Controlled Load 1 | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 16.5 | 20% below | 26.95 | 39% | incl |
| Indigo Power | Endeavour Energy | Community Energy Hub plan Endeavo | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 17.38 | 16% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Momentum | Endeavour Energy | Home Comfort Electricity | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 17.6 | 15% below | 28.82 | 39% | incl |
| Tango Energy | Endeavour Energy | Everyday Easy | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 17.93 | 13% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Origin | Endeavour Energy | Weekday Shift | Controlled load 1 | CL1 | 18.43 | 11% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| AGL | Endeavour Energy | Residential Smart Saver | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 18.58 | 10% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Flipped Energy | Endeavour Energy | Anytime Switched On 2.3! Controlled Load | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 18.7 | 9% below | 30.58 | 39% | incl |
| Sumo | Endeavour Energy | Static | General Controlled Load 1 Usage | CL1 | 19.6 | 5% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| ActewAGL | Endeavour Energy | Simple Saver with controlled load 1 | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 19.88 | 4% below | 32.89 | 40% | incl |
| Red Energy | Endeavour Energy | Living Energy Saver | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 20.02 | 3% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Diamond Energy | Endeavour Energy | Diamond Everyday - Daylight | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 20.23 | 2% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Nectr | Endeavour Energy | GreenPower + CL 1 - August 2026 | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 20.44 | 1% below | 33.39 | 39% | incl |
| OVO Energy | Endeavour Energy | The Free 4 Plan | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 20.64 | at the cap | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| EnergyAustralia | Endeavour Energy | Flexi Plan | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 20.65 | at the cap | 33.72 | 39% | incl |
| GEE Energy | Endeavour Energy | GEE Smart Value ENDR Time of Use + CL1 | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 24 | 16% above | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Dodo | Endeavour Energy | Real Deal | Single Rate Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 26.93 | 30% above | 30.22 | 11% | incl |
| COVAU | Endeavour Energy | Freedom Residential Flex 1600-2000 + CL1 | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 28.47 | 38% above | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| 1st Energy | Endeavour Energy | 1st Emerald - Single Rate + Controlled Load 1 & 2 | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 17.6 | 20% below | 26.95 | 35% | incl |
| Momentum | Endeavour Energy | Home Comfort Electricity | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 18.81 | 15% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Origin | Endeavour Energy | Weekday Shift | Controlled load 2 | CL2 | 19.71 | 11% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| AGL | Endeavour Energy | Residential Smart Saver | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 19.87 | 10% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| ActewAGL | Endeavour Energy | Simple Saver with controlled load 1&2 | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 19.88 | 10% below | 32.89 | 40% | incl |
| Indigo Power | Endeavour Energy | Community Energy Hub plan Endeavo | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 20.24 | 8% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Tango Energy | Endeavour Energy | Everyday Easy | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 20.9 | 5% below | 26.18 | 20% | incl |
| Sumo | Endeavour Energy | Static | General Controlled Load 2 Usage | CL2 | 20.98 | 5% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Red Energy | Endeavour Energy | Living Energy Saver | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 21.54 | 2% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Diamond Energy | Endeavour Energy | Diamond Everyday - Daylight | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 21.65 | 2% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Nectr | Endeavour Energy | GreenPower + CL 2 - August 2026 | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 21.87 | 1% below | 33.39 | 35% | incl |
| OVO Energy | Endeavour Energy | The Free 4 Plan | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 22.08 | at the cap | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| EnergyAustralia | Endeavour Energy | Flexi Plan | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 22.09 | at the cap | 33.72 | 34% | incl |
| GEE Energy | Endeavour Energy | GEE Smart Value ENDR Time of Use + CL2 | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 24 | 9% above | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| COVAU | Endeavour Energy | Freedom Residential Flex 1600-2000 + CL2 | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 29.77 | 35% above | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Dodo | Endeavour Energy | Real Deal | Single Rate Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 29.8 | 35% above | 30.22 | 1% | incl |
| Powershop | Endeavour Energy | Power House | Single Rate Controlled Load | Not stated | 17.4 | n/a | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Alinta | Endeavour Energy | HomeDeal Smart - Single Rate + CL | Controlled load | Not stated | 18.17 | n/a | 29.68 | 39% | incl |
| ENGIE | Endeavour Energy | Home Business Everyday Elec | Single Rate Controlled Load | Not stated | 20.64 | n/a | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| GloBird | Endeavour Energy | FREELUNCH Resi (Flexible CTL) | Controlled Load | Not stated | 20.65 | n/a | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Kogan Energy | Endeavour Energy | Basic | Single Rate Controlled Load | Not stated | 20.65 | n/a | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Indigo Power | Essential Energy | Community Energy Hub plan Essenti | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 15.95 | 20% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| 1st Energy | Essential Energy | 1st Emerald - Single Rate + Controlled Load 1 | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 16.06 | 19% below | 28.27 | 43% | incl |
| Tango Energy | Essential Energy | Everyday Easy | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 16.5 | 17% below | 28.71 | 43% | incl |
| Momentum | Essential Energy | Home Comfort Electricity | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 17.38 | 13% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Origin | Essential Energy | Weekday Shift | Controlled load 1 | CL1 | 17.55 | 12% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Red Energy | Essential Energy | Living Energy Saver | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 18.43 | 7% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| AGL | Essential Energy | Residential Smart Saver | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 18.69 | 6% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Sumo | Essential Energy | Static | General Controlled Load 1 Usage | CL1 | 18.9 | 5% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Diamond Energy | Essential Energy | Diamond Everyday - Daylight | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 19.49 | 2% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Nectr | Essential Energy | GreenPower + CL 1 - August 2026 | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 19.69 | 1% below | 34.65 | 43% | incl |
| EnergyAustralia | Essential Energy | Flexi Plan | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 19.89 | at the cap | 35 | 43% | incl |
| OVO Energy | Essential Energy | The Free 4 Plan | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 19.89 | at the cap | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Flipped Energy | Essential Energy | Freedom Switched On 2.2! Controlled Load | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 21.55 | 8% above | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| GEE Energy | Essential Energy | GEE Smart Value ESSNR Time of Use + CL1 | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 22.75 | 14% above | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| COVAU | Essential Energy | Freedom Residential Single + CL 1 | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 24.59 | 24% above | 40.92 | 40% | incl |
| Dodo | Essential Energy | Real Deal | Single Rate Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 25.2 | 27% above | 37.59 | 33% | incl |
| 1st Energy | Essential Energy | 1st Emerald - Single Rate + Controlled Load 1 & 2 | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 19.36 | 19% below | 28.27 | 32% | incl |
| Indigo Power | Essential Energy | Community Energy Hub plan Essenti | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 19.8 | 17% below | 31.35 | 37% | incl |
| Tango Energy | Essential Energy | Everyday Easy | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 20.35 | 15% below | 28.71 | 29% | incl |
| Momentum | Essential Energy | Home Comfort Electricity | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 21.01 | 12% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Origin | Essential Energy | Weekday Shift | Controlled load 2 | CL2 | 21.16 | 12% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Red Energy | Essential Energy | Living Energy Saver | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 22.51 | 6% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| AGL | Essential Energy | Residential Smart Saver | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 22.54 | 6% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| GEE Energy | Essential Energy | GEE Smart Value ESSNR Time of Use + CL2 | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 22.75 | 5% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Sumo | Essential Energy | Static | General Controlled Load 2 Usage | CL2 | 22.77 | 5% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Diamond Energy | Essential Energy | Diamond Everyday - Daylight | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 23.5 | 2% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Nectr | Essential Energy | GreenPower + CL 2 - August 2026 | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 23.74 | 1% below | 34.65 | 31% | incl |
| OVO Energy | Essential Energy | The Free 4 Plan | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 23.97 | at the cap | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| EnergyAustralia | Essential Energy | Flexi Plan | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 23.98 | at the cap | 35 | 31% | incl |
| Dodo | Essential Energy | Real Deal | Single Rate Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 29.12 | 21% above | 37.59 | 23% | incl |
| COVAU | Essential Energy | Freedom Residential Single + CL 2 | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 29.77 | 24% above | 40.92 | 27% | incl |
| Powershop | Essential Energy | Power House | Single Rate Controlled Load | Not stated | 17.33 | n/a | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Alinta | Essential Energy | HomeDeal Smart - Single Rate + CL | Controlled load | Not stated | 17.5 | n/a | 30.8 | 43% | incl |
| ENGIE | Essential Energy | Home Business Everyday Elec | Single Rate Controlled Load | Not stated | 19.89 | n/a | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| GloBird | Essential Energy | FREELUNCH Resi (Flexible CTL) | Controlled Load | Not stated | 19.89 | n/a | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Kogan Energy | Essential Energy | Basic | Single Rate Controlled Load | Not stated | 19.89 | n/a | 35 | 43% | incl |
| 1st Energy | Energex | 1st Emerald - Single Rate + Controlled Load 1 | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 13.09 | 20% below | 22.33 | 41% | incl |
| Momentum | Energex | Home Comfort Electricity | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 14.63 | 11% below | 24.86 | 41% | incl |
| Origin | Energex | Weekday Shift | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 15.25 | 7% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Flipped Energy | Energex | Freedom Switched On 2.3! Controlled Load | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 15.4 | 6% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| AGL | Energex | Residential Smart Saver | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 15.59 | 5% below | 26.57 | 41% | incl |
| Sumo | Energex | Static | General Controlled Load 1 Usage | CL1 | 15.6 | 5% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Diamond Energy | Energex | Diamond Everyday - Daylight | Controlled Load 1 - Tariff 31 | CL1 | 16.1 | 2% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Nectr | Energex | GreenPower + CL 1 - August 2026 | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 16.27 | 1% below | 27.7 | 41% | incl |
| OVO Energy | Energex | The Free 4 Plan | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 16.42 | at the cap | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| EnergyAustralia | Energex | Flexi Plan | Super Economy Tariff 31 | CL1 | 16.43 | at the cap | 27.97 | 41% | incl |
| Red Energy | Energex | Living Energy Saver | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 16.43 | at the cap | 27.67 | 41% | incl |
| GEE Energy | Energex | GEE Smart Value ENGXR Single Rate + CL1 | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 17.81 | 8% above | 35.46 | 50% | incl |
| COVAU | Energex | Freedom Residential Energex Volume TOU Res + CL1 | Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 20.7 | 26% above | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Dodo | Energex | Real Deal | Single Rate Controlled Load 1 | CL1 | 22.26 | 35% above | 26.3 | 15% | incl |
| 1st Energy | Energex | 1st Emerald - Single Rate + Controlled Load 1 & 2 | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 13.31 | 21% below | 22.33 | 40% | incl |
| Momentum | Energex | Home Comfort Electricity | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 14.85 | 11% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Origin | Energex | Weekday Shift | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 15.55 | 7% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| AGL | Energex | Residential Smart Saver | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 15.9 | 5% below | 26.57 | 40% | incl |
| Sumo | Energex | Static | General Controlled Load 2 Usage | CL2 | 15.91 | 5% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Diamond Energy | Energex | Diamond Everyday - Daylight | Controlled Load 2 - Tariff 33 | CL2 | 16.41 | 2% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Nectr | Energex | GreenPower + CL 1 & CL 2 - August 2026 | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 16.58 | 1% below | 27.7 | 40% | incl |
| EnergyAustralia | Energex | Flexi Plan | Economy Tariff 33 | CL2 | 16.73 | at the cap | 27.97 | 40% | incl |
| OVO Energy | Energex | The Free 4 Plan | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 16.74 | at the cap | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Red Energy | Energex | Living Energy Saver | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 16.74 | at the cap | 27.67 | 40% | incl |
| GEE Energy | Energex | GEE Smart Value ENGXR Single Rate + CL2 | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 17.81 | 6% above | 35.46 | 50% | incl |
| COVAU | Energex | Freedom Residential Energex Volume TOU Res + CL2 | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 20.7 | 24% above | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Tango Energy | Energex | Home Select | Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 21.9 | 31% above | 34.27 | 36% | incl |
| Dodo | Energex | Real Deal | Single Rate Controlled Load 2 | CL2 | 22.26 | 33% above | 26.3 | 15% | incl |
| Alinta | Energex | HomeDeal Flow - Single Rate + CL | Controlled load | Not stated | 14.14 | n/a | 24.06 | 41% | incl |
| Powershop | Energex | Power House | Single Rate Controlled Load | Not stated | 14.28 | n/a | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| GloBird | Energex | FULLHOUSE Residential (Flat Rate CTL Load) | Controlled Load | Not stated | 14.3 | n/a | 22 | 35% | incl |
| ENGIE | Energex | Essentials Elec | Single Rate Controlled Load | Not stated | 16.42 | n/a | 27.97 | 41% | incl |
| Kogan Energy | Energex | Basic | Single Rate Controlled Load | Not stated | 16.43 | n/a | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| ENGIE | SA Power Networks | Home Business Everyday Elec | TOU Rate Controlled Load | CL |
| n/a | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Origin | SA Power Networks | Go Variable Ongoing | TOU Rate Controlled Load | CL |
| n/a | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Alinta | SA Power Networks | HomeDeal Flow - Time of Use (Interval) + CL | Shoulder Control Load | CL |
| n/a | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| EnergyAustralia | SA Power Networks | Flexi Plan | Controlled Load Shoulder Usage | CL |
| n/a | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Powershop | SA Power Networks | Power House | TOU Rate Controlled Load | CL |
| n/a | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| 1st Energy | SA Power Networks | 1st Emerald - Single Rate + Controlled Load | Controlled Load | CL | 17.93 | 19% below | 33.88 | 47% | incl |
| Lumo Energy | SA Power Networks | Lumo Basic | Controlled Load TOU | CL |
| n/a | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Red Energy | SA Power Networks | Living Energy Saver | Controlled Load TOU | CL |
| n/a | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| GloBird | SA Power Networks | FULLHOUSE Residential (Flat Rate CTL Load)-SAPN | Controlled Load | CL | 19.8 | 11% below | 36.08 | 45% | incl |
| AGL | SA Power Networks | Residential Smart Saver (No Exit Fee) | Controlled Load 1 | CL | 21.1 | 5% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Diamond Energy | SA Power Networks | Diamond Everyday - Daylight | Controlled Load | CL | 21.8 | 2% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Nectr | SA Power Networks | GreenPower + CL 1 - August 2026 | Controlled Load 1 | CL | 22.02 | 1% below | 41.49 | 47% | incl |
| OVO Energy | SA Power Networks | The Free 4 Plan | Controlled Load 1 | CL | 22.24 | at the cap | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Kogan Energy | SA Power Networks | Basic | Single Rate Controlled Load | CL | 22.25 | at the cap | 41.91 | 47% | incl |
| Radian Energy | SA Power Networks | Basic Home | Free meter exchange | Controlled load | Controlled Load | CL | 24 | 8% above | 60.01 | 60% | incl |
| Tango Energy | SA Power Networks | Home Select | Controlled Load | CL | 24.4 | 10% above | 45.35 | 46% | incl |
| Flipped Energy | SA Power Networks | Freedom Switched On 2.2! Controlled Load | Controlled Load 1 | CL | 27.81 | 25% above | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| COVAU | SA Power Networks | Freedom Residential Flexible + CL | Controlled Load | CL | 31.06 | 40% above | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| 1st Energy | CitiPower | Indigo Power Retail - Community Energy Hub Plan | Controlled Load 1 | CL | 12.43 | 25% below | 23.76 | 48% | incl |
| OVO Energy | CitiPower | The One Plan - OCT2026 | Controlled Load | CL | 12.61 | 24% below | 19.72 | 36% | incl |
| Sumo | CitiPower | Sunrise Plus | General Controlled Load | CL | 12.77 | 23% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Alinta | CitiPower | HomeDeal Next - Single Rate + CL | — | CL | 13.28 | 20% below | 20.77 | 36% | incl |
| Lumo Energy | CitiPower | Lumo Plus | Controlled Load | CL | 13.42 | 19% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Powershop | CitiPower | Power House | Controlled Load Usage | CL | 13.78 | 17% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Tango Energy | CitiPower | Everyday Easy | Controlled Load | CL | 13.86 | 16% below | 22.66 | 39% | incl |
| AGL | CitiPower | Residential Smart Saver | Applicable to customers that have controlled load consumption | CL | 14.27 | 14% below | 22.32 | 36% | incl |
| Momentum | CitiPower | Home Comfort Electricity | Controlled Load | CL | 14.74 | 11% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Flipped Energy | CitiPower | Freedom Switched On! Controlled Load | Controlled Load | CL | 15.42 | 7% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Arcline by RACV | CitiPower | Home Energy Plan | Controlled Load 1 | CL | 15.43 | 7% below | 24.15 | 36% | incl |
| Origin | CitiPower | Affinity Variable - Cheap Bills - Oct'26 (Single Rate with Dedicated Circuit) | Dedicated Circuit | CL | 15.43 | 7% below | 24.15 | 36% | incl |
| Diamond Energy | CitiPower | Diamond Everyday - Time of Use | controlled load | CL | 16.26 | 2% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| EnergyAustralia | CitiPower | Home 365 - Peak with Controlled Load | — | CL | 16.59 | at the cap | 25.96 | 36% | incl |
| ENGIE | CitiPower | Essentials Elec | Controlled Load | CL | 16.59 | at the cap | 25.96 | 36% | incl |
| GloBird | CitiPower | FREELUNCH Residential (Flexible Rate With CL) | Controlled Load | CL | 16.59 | at the cap | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Kogan Energy | CitiPower | Basic | Controlled Load Usage | CL | 16.59 | at the cap | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Nectr | CitiPower | GreenPower + CL - Citipower - October 2026 | Controlled Load | CL | 16.59 | at the cap | 25.96 | 36% | incl |
| Red Energy | CitiPower | Living Energy Saver | Controlled Load | CL | 18.11 | 9% above | 23.71 | 24% | incl |
| Dodo | CitiPower | Real Deal - Single Rate with Controlled Load | Controlled Load | CL | 18.24 | 10% above | 27.23 | 33% | incl |
| COVAU | CitiPower | Super Saver Residential Single + CL | Controlled Load | CL | 18.7 | 13% above | 24.59 | 24% | incl |
| Flow Power | CitiPower | Flow Home | Controlled Load | CL | 25.41 | 53% above | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| 1st Energy | Powercor | Indigo Power Retail - Community Energy Hub Plan | Controlled Load 1 | CL | 12.43 | 28% below | 32.45 | 62% | incl |
| OVO Energy | Powercor | The One Plan - OCT2026 | Controlled Load | CL | 13.29 | 23% below | 21.73 | 39% | incl |
| Lumo Energy | Powercor | Lumo Plus | Controlled Load | CL | 13.64 | 21% below | 21.68 | 37% | incl |
| Sumo | Powercor | Sunrise Plus | General Controlled Load | CL | 13.64 | 21% below | 21.25 | 36% | incl |
| Alinta | Powercor | HomeDeal Next - Single Rate + CL | — | CL | 13.81 | 20% below | 22.57 | 39% | incl |
| Powershop | Powercor | Power House | Controlled Load Usage | CL | 14.28 | 17% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| AGL | Powercor | Residential Smart Saver | Applicable to customers that have controlled load consumption | CL | 14.84 | 14% below | 24.27 | 39% | incl |
| Tango Energy | Powercor | Everyday Easy | Controlled Load | CL | 14.85 | 14% below | 24.53 | 39% | incl |
| Momentum | Powercor | Home Comfort Electricity | Controlled Load | CL | 15.18 | 12% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Arcline by RACV | Powercor | Home Energy Plan | Controlled Load 1 | CL | 16.05 | 7% below | 26.25 | 39% | incl |
| Origin | Powercor | Affinity Variable - Cheap Bills - Oct'26 (Single Rate with Dedicated Circuit) | Dedicated Circuit | CL | 16.05 | 7% below | 26.25 | 39% | incl |
| Diamond Energy | Powercor | Diamond Everyday - Time of Use | controlled load | CL | 16.92 | 2% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Flipped Energy | Powercor | Freedom Switched On! Controlled Load | Controlled Load | CL | 16.93 | 2% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| EnergyAustralia | Powercor | Home 365 - Peak with Controlled Load | — | CL | 17.26 | at the cap | 28.22 | 39% | incl |
| ENGIE | Powercor | Essentials Elec | Controlled Load | CL | 17.26 | at the cap | 28.22 | 39% | incl |
| GloBird | Powercor | FREELUNCH Residential (Flexible RateWith CL) | Controlled Load | CL | 17.26 | at the cap | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Kogan Energy | Powercor | Basic | Controlled Load Usage | CL | 17.26 | at the cap | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Nectr | Powercor | GreenPower + CL - Powercor - October 2026 | Controlled Load | CL | 17.26 | at the cap | 28.22 | 39% | incl |
| Dodo | Powercor | Real Deal - Single Rate with Controlled Load | Controlled Load | CL | 18.84 | 9% above | 29.36 | 36% | incl |
| Red Energy | Powercor | Living Energy Saver | Controlled Load | CL | 19.1 | 11% above | 23.98 | 20% | incl |
| COVAU | Powercor | Super Saver Residential Single + CL | Controlled Load | CL | 19.8 | 15% above | 25.4 | 22% | incl |
| Flow Power | Powercor | Flow Home | Controlled Load | CL | 28.01 | 62% above | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| 1st Energy | Jemena | 1st Emerald, Residential - Anytime with Controlled Load | Controlled Load | CL | 16.17 | 24% below | 20.79 | 22% | incl |
| Sumo | Jemena | Sunrise Plus | General Controlled Load | CL | 16.25 | 24% below | 20.85 | 22% | incl |
| OVO Energy | Jemena | The One Plan - OCT2026 | Controlled Load | CL | 16.48 | 23% below | 21.14 | 22% | incl |
| Lumo Energy | Jemena | Lumo Plus | Controlled Load | CL | 17.02 | 21% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Tango Energy | Jemena | Everyday Easy | Controlled Load | CL | 17.05 | 20% below | 23.43 | 27% | incl |
| Alinta | Jemena | HomeDeal Next - Single Rate + CL | — | CL | 17.13 | 20% below | 21.98 | 22% | incl |
| Flipped Energy | Jemena | Freedom Switched On! Controlled Load | Controlled Load | CL | 17.16 | 20% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Powershop | Jemena | Power House | Controlled Load Usage | CL | 17.53 | 18% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Momentum | Jemena | Home Comfort Electricity | Controlled Load | CL | 18.92 | 12% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| AGL | Jemena | Residential Smart Saver | Applicable to customers that have controlled load consumption | CL | 19.27 | 10% below | 24.73 | 22% | incl |
| Arcline by RACV | Jemena | Home Energy Plan | Controlled Load 1 | CL | 19.91 | 7% below | 25.54 | 22% | incl |
| Origin | Jemena | Affinity Variable - Cheap Bills - Oct'26 (Single Rate with Dedicated Circuit) | Dedicated Circuit | CL | 19.91 | 7% below | 25.54 | 22% | incl |
| Red Energy | Jemena | Living Energy Saver | Controlled Load | CL | 20.81 | 3% below | 23.6 | 12% | incl |
| COVAU | Jemena | Super Saver Residential Single + CL | Controlled Load | CL | 20.9 | 2% below | 24.72 | 15% | incl |
| Diamond Energy | Jemena | Diamond Everyday - Time of Use | controlled load | CL | 20.98 | 2% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| EnergyAustralia | Jemena | Home 365 - Peak with Controlled Load | — | CL | 21.41 | at the cap | 27.47 | 22% | incl |
| ENGIE | Jemena | Essentials Elec | Controlled Load | CL | 21.41 | at the cap | 27.47 | 22% | incl |
| GloBird | Jemena | FREELUNCH Residential (Flexible Rate With CL) | Controlled Load | CL | 21.41 | at the cap | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Kogan Energy | Jemena | Basic | Controlled Load Usage | CL | 21.41 | at the cap | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Nectr | Jemena | GreenPower + CL - Jemena - October 2026 | Controlled Load | CL | 21.41 | at the cap | 27.41 | 22% | incl |
| Dodo | Jemena | Real Deal - Single Rate with Controlled Load | Controlled Load | CL | 22.19 | 4% above | 28 | 21% | incl |
| Flow Power | Jemena | Flow Home | Controlled Load | CL | 26.75 | 25% above | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| 1st Energy | AusNet | Indigo Power Retail - Community Energy Hub Plan AusNet Services (electricity) | Controlled Load 1 | CL | 16.72 | 24% below | 29.48 | 43% | incl |
| OVO Energy | AusNet | The One Plan - OCT2026 | Controlled Load | CL | 17.24 | 22% below | 24.94 | 31% | incl |
| Sumo | AusNet | Sunrise Plus | General Controlled Load | CL | 17.29 | 22% below | 24.52 | 29% | incl |
| Flipped Energy | AusNet | Freedom Switched On! Controlled Load | Controlled Load | CL | 17.68 | 20% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Alinta | AusNet | HomeDeal Next - Single Rate + CL | — | CL | 17.69 | 20% below | 25.59 | 31% | incl |
| Lumo Energy | AusNet | Lumo Plus | Controlled Load | CL | 18.04 | 18% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Powershop | AusNet | Power House | Controlled Load Usage | CL | 18.28 | 17% below | 26.43 | 31% | incl |
| Tango Energy | AusNet | Everyday Easy | Controlled Load | CL | 18.37 | 17% below | 27.94 | 34% | incl |
| Momentum | AusNet | Home Comfort Electricity | Controlled Load | CL | 19.58 | 11% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| COVAU | AusNet | Super Saver Residential Single + CL | Controlled Load | CL | 19.8 | 10% below | 30.29 | 35% | incl |
| AGL | AusNet | Residential Smart Saver | Applicable to customers that have controlled load consumption | CL | 19.9 | 10% below | 28.79 | 31% | incl |
| Arcline by RACV | AusNet | Home Energy Plan | Controlled Load 1 | CL | 20.56 | 7% below | 29.74 | 31% | incl |
| Origin | AusNet | Affinity Variable - Cheap Bills - Oct'26 (Single Rate with Dedicated Circuit) | Dedicated Circuit | CL | 20.56 | 7% below | 29.74 | 31% | incl |
| Red Energy | AusNet | Living Energy Saver | Controlled Load | CL | 21.57 | 2% below | 25.85 | 17% | incl |
| Diamond Energy | AusNet | Diamond Everyday - Time of Use | controlled load | CL | 21.67 | 2% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| EnergyAustralia | AusNet | Home 365 - Peak with Controlled Load | — | CL | 22.11 | at the cap | 31.98 | 31% | incl |
| ENGIE | AusNet | Essentials Elec | Controlled Load | CL | 22.11 | at the cap | 31.98 | 31% | incl |
| GloBird | AusNet | FREELUNCH Residential (Flexible Rate With CL) AusNet Services (electricity) | Controlled Load | CL | 22.11 | at the cap | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Kogan Energy | AusNet | Basic | Controlled Load Usage | CL | 22.11 | at the cap | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Nectr | AusNet | GreenPower + CL - AusNet - October 2026 | Controlled Load | CL | 22.11 | at the cap | 31.98 | 31% | incl |
| Dodo | AusNet | Real Deal - Single Rate with Controlled Load | Controlled Load | CL | 23.2 | 5% above | 28.8 | 19% | incl |
| Flow Power | AusNet | Flow Home | Controlled Load | CL | 29.74 | 35% above | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| 1st Energy | United Energy | Indigo Power Retail - Community Energy Hub Plan | Controlled Load 1 | CL | 12.43 | 28% below | 24.53 | 49% | incl |
| OVO Energy | United Energy | The One Plan - OCT2026 | Controlled Load | CL | 12.94 | 25% below | 20.5 | 37% | incl |
| Sumo | United Energy | Sunrise Plus | General Controlled Load | CL | 13.11 | 24% below | 20.32 | 35% | incl |
| Lumo Energy | United Energy | Lumo Plus | Controlled Load | CL | 13.7 | 21% below | 20.83 | 34% | incl |
| Alinta | United Energy | HomeDeal Next - Single Rate + CL | — | CL | 13.81 | 20% below | 21.88 | 37% | incl |
| Powershop | United Energy | Power House | Controlled Load Usage | CL | 14 | 19% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Tango Energy | United Energy | Everyday Easy | Controlled Load | CL | 14.08 | 18% below | 23.43 | 40% | incl |
| AGL | United Energy | Residential Smart Saver | Controlled Load | CL | 14.84 | 14% below | 23.52 | 37% | incl |
| Momentum | United Energy | Home Comfort Electricity | Controlled Load | CL | 15.29 | 11% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Arcline by RACV | United Energy | Home Energy Plan | Controlled Load 1 | CL | 16.05 | 7% below | 25.43 | 37% | incl |
| Origin | United Energy | Affinity Variable - Cheap Bills - Oct'26 (Single Rate with Dedicated Circuit) | Dedicated Circuit | CL | 16.05 | 7% below | 25.43 | 37% | incl |
| Flipped Energy | United Energy | Freedom Switched On! Controlled Load | Controlled Load | CL | 16.65 | 4% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Diamond Energy | United Energy | Diamond Everyday - Time of Use | controlled load | CL | 16.92 | 2% below | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| EnergyAustralia | United Energy | Home 365 - Peak with Controlled Load | — | CL | 17.26 | at the cap | 27.35 | 37% | incl |
| ENGIE | United Energy | Essentials Elec | Controlled Load | CL | 17.26 | at the cap | 27.35 | 37% | incl |
| GloBird | United Energy | FREELUNCH Residential (Flexible Rate With CL) | Controlled Load | CL | 17.26 | at the cap | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Kogan Energy | United Energy | Basic | Controlled Load Usage | CL | 17.26 | at the cap | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
| Nectr | United Energy | GreenPower + CL - United Energy - October 2026 | Controlled Load | CL | 17.26 | at the cap | 27.35 | 37% | incl |
| Dodo | United Energy | Real Deal - Single Rate with Controlled Load | Controlled Load | CL | 18.47 | 7% above | 25.09 | 26% | incl |
| Red Energy | United Energy | Living Energy Saver | Controlled Load | CL | 18.94 | 10% above | 23.57 | 20% | incl |
| COVAU | United Energy | Super Saver Residential Single + CL | Controlled Load | CL | 19.8 | 15% above | 25.91 | 24% | incl |
| Flow Power | United Energy | Flow Home | Controlled Load | CL | 26.91 | 56% above | time-of-use | n/a | incl |
Ranked on the controlled load rate. In Ausgrid, Endeavour Energy, Essential Energy and Energex, CL1 is a name containing load 1, tariff 31 or super economy, and CL2 is load 2 or tariff 33. A name covering 1 and 2 is shown under both. At the cap means within 0.1c/kWh of the DMO or VDO controlled load usage cap. The discount is the controlled load rate against the same plan's general usage rate, and only a single-rate plan has one.
Cite this
EnergyPlans. Controlled load electricity rates by retailer and distribution zone. https://www.energyplans.com.au/reference/controlled-load-rates. Rates as at 27 October 2026.
Download the same rows as CSV. Free to quote with a link to this page.
Linked from the NSW electricity report, Victoria electricity report, Queensland electricity report and South Australia electricity report.
Compare electricity plans
Compare plans from selected Australian energy retailers for your address.
Compare plansWe earn a commission when you switch through us, and our switching partner offers a smaller panel than the plans we track. How we make money